How to Share Multiple iPhone Pictures

One of the delights of having an iPhone is being able to share photos with others – either directly through a text message or email or by posting to a website like Facebook or Pinterest. It’s quick, easy and fun.

But what about sharing groups of photos from a vacation at the beach or a grandchild’s birthday party? We often don’t share many of those because we think we have to send the pictures one at the time and therefore, it’s too cumbersome.

It’s simple to share groups of photos with friends by using the “mysterious” Photo Stream. What is Photo Stream? It is Apple’s free cloud storage to save a copy of every picture you take with your iPhone or iPad. How many photos can it hold? Apple will save up to 1000 of your most recent photos in your own Photo Stream. How do you copy your pictures to Photo Stream? It happens automatically through a setting on your iPhone or iPad.

To automatically copy your iPhone/iPad pictures to your Photo Stream as you take them:

  • Touch Settings iCloud.
  • Touch Photos.
  • My Photo Stream should be ON (green).
  • Photo Sharing should be ON (green) to share pictures with others.

Shared Photo Streams are additional Photo Streams that you create and invite friends you’ve chosen to view or save the shared pictures. These sharing friends can even add their photos to this shared Photo Stream for you to see or save. These shared Photo Streams can each hold an enormous number of pictures and do not count as part of your 1000 picture personal Photo Stream limit.

I created a shared Photo Stream of my family’s Christmas get together in Charleston and shared it with my cousins, aunt and uncle. One cousin has added his photos from our reunion to my shared Photo Stream. I now have copies of his pictures and he has copies of mine, pronto! Of course, the other cousins, aunt and uncle can see all of our combined photos from that day and download the ones they want.

This is how you create a shared Photo Stream from your iPhone or iPad:

  • Touch the  icon.
  • Touch Albums in the bottom right if it’s not highlighted blue.
  • Touch Camera Roll, My Photo Stream or any other album containing the pictures you want to share.
  • Touch Select in the top right.
  • Tap each photo that you want to share. A blue checkmark will appear on each one.
  • Touch the icon in the bottom left.
  • Touch iCloud.
  • You can enter a comment or not.
  • Touch Stream. You can choose a different Stream than the one automatically selected or New Shared Stream to create a new one.
  • If you select an existing Stream, touch Post.
  • If you create a New Shared Stream, you will enter the contacts with whom you are sharing in the “To:” field. If you select email addresses, your contacts will be notified by email. If you select cell phone numbers, your contacts will be notified by an alert on their iPhone.

To view or change the contacts in an existing shared Stream:

  • From the same Photos app, touch Shared in the bottom middle.
  • Touch the shared Stream you want to view or change.
  • Touch People on the bottom right.
  • To add more contacts, touch Invite People…
  • To remove a contact, touch the contact’s name and Remove Subscriber at the bottom.

Speaking of photos, for those of you who use Mac computers and would like to learn how to create and share beautiful iPhoto Slideshows, I have an online class beginning January 24. It’s self-paced from your home and I will be available to answer any questions. More info and registration through www.liberateyourtime.com/iphoto-slideshow-registration.

Another New Setting in Gmail

For those of you with Gmail addresses, you should have received an email from Gmail recently that looks like this. it’s not spam and it’s important!

Google has made a change that can allow people who are not in your contact list to email you. It sounds a lot like the way Facebook and LinkedIn users can privately message any other Facebook or LinkedIn member, while keeping the recipient’s email address private. I’ve actually used this capability before to reach a long lost co-worker.

This is part of Google’s push to enhance their own social network, called Google+. It’s not necessarily a bad change, given that there are some people from my life with whom I’d like to make email contact. But not everyone is going to want that, so Gmail gives you control over who can email you.

To change this setting, either click on the link in the email, or from your Gmail screen:

  • Click the  on the right side.
  • Click on Settings.
  • Under the General tab, look for Email via Google+ on the left side.
  • Change Who can email you via your Google+ profile to Anyone on Google+, Extended circles, Circles or No one.
    Google-Gmail-settings
  • If you make a change, be sure to click on Save Changes at the bottom of the page.

Remember, this is only for people who are using Google+ to email you. This setting does not affect email that is sent directly to your Gmail address from someone who knows that address. So if you change your Settings to allow “No one” to email you through Google+, your email will look and act the way it always has.

I’ve decided to allow email from my “Extended circles” for now. I can always change it at anytime. I actually think I’m going to like it.

If you’re a Mac user and you’ve always wanted to do something fun and creative with your photos, click on the iPhoto Slideshow Online Workshop on the right. You can take the class at your own pace and from the comfort of your home or office. It’s e-learning and individual help when you need it!

How to Protect Your Devices if Stolen

Earlier this fall, a friend and student of mine had her Macbook and iPad stolen. When she discovered they were missing, she called me to ask if I knew of any way to find her missing devices. Unfortunately, her laptop and iPad were never recovered because they did not have the correct settings turned on to locate them in real-time. (I was able to find a location where they had been the day before through other programs, but it was too late to be of help to the police.)

This is a long article, but the beginning of a new year and possibly with new Apple devices is an excellent time to make certain that yours could be found quickly if they are ever stolen or misplaced. Read on!

iPhones and iPads have had the Find My iPhone setting for years. Find My iPhone uses the cellular network or a Wi-Fi signal to give you a general location of your iPhone/iPad on a map when you log into icloud.com from a computer. Until recently, a thief could turn off the setting to find your iPhone/iPad if your device was not passcode protected or the 4-digit passcode was discovered. (9999 is not a secure passcode!)

With the new iOS 7 operating system, Apple introduced a new feature with Find My iPhone called Activation Lock. Activation Lock is automatically turned on when you set up Find My iPhone and makes it much harder for anyone to use or sell your iPhone/iPad if it’s lost or stolen. Basically, an unwelcome user can not turn off Find My iPhone without entering your Apple ID and password. In addition, your iPhone/iPad can’t be erased or signed out of iCloud without your Apple ID and password.

Find My iPhone Settings for iPhone/iPad

Read more

About Those 2014 Resolutions…

What are your New Year’s resolutions? To learn to use your iPhone or iPad better? To actually know enough to enjoy using your iPhone/iPad? To finally get your photos organized on your iMac or Macbook so that you can enjoy showing and viewing them?

If any of these goals resonate with you, it’s time. Time to take steps to improve your iPhone/iPad proficiency and confidence. Time to begin getting your photos organized so that you can enjoy them and eventually pass them down to your children or grandchildren.

A year from now, you can either feel the same frustration with your devices or you can marvel at how easy it is to use your iPhone/iPad. You can show and share special times with very cool slideshows. You can feel like you are keeping up with technology.

I am offering three classes in January to help you with your iPhones, iPads and photos. Two will be offered locally in Hendersonville, NC and one will be virtual that you can take from the comfort of your own home or office, just about anywhere!

The Classes – click here for all the details and registration!

  1. Liberate Your iPhone/iPad with the Basics – 2-part class, January 23 & 30
  2. Liberate Your iPhone/iPad with Cloud Storage – 2-part class, January 14 & 21
  3. The iPhoto Slideshow Workshop – beginning January 24

Sign up soon and start enjoying your iPhones, iPads and photos!