How to Share Multiple iPhone Pictures

One of the delights of having an iPhone is being able to share photos with others – either directly through a text message or email or by posting to a website like Facebook or Pinterest. It’s quick, easy and fun.

But what about sharing groups of photos from a vacation at the beach or a grandchild’s birthday party? We often don’t share many of those because we think we have to send the pictures one at the time and therefore, it’s too cumbersome.

It’s simple to share groups of photos with friends by using the “mysterious” Photo Stream. What is Photo Stream? It is Apple’s free cloud storage to save a copy of every picture you take with your iPhone or iPad. How many photos can it hold? Apple will save up to 1000 of your most recent photos in your own Photo Stream. How do you copy your pictures to Photo Stream? It happens automatically through a setting on your iPhone or iPad.

To automatically copy your iPhone/iPad pictures to your Photo Stream as you take them:

  • Touch Settings iCloud.
  • Touch Photos.
  • My Photo Stream should be ON (green).
  • Photo Sharing should be ON (green) to share pictures with others.

Shared Photo Streams are additional Photo Streams that you create and invite friends you’ve chosen to view or save the shared pictures. These sharing friends can even add their photos to this shared Photo Stream for you to see or save. These shared Photo Streams can each hold an enormous number of pictures and do not count as part of your 1000 picture personal Photo Stream limit.

I created a shared Photo Stream of my family’s Christmas get together in Charleston and shared it with my cousins, aunt and uncle. One cousin has added his photos from our reunion to my shared Photo Stream. I now have copies of his pictures and he has copies of mine, pronto! Of course, the other cousins, aunt and uncle can see all of our combined photos from that day and download the ones they want.

This is how you create a shared Photo Stream from your iPhone or iPad:

  • Touch the  icon.
  • Touch Albums in the bottom right if it’s not highlighted blue.
  • Touch Camera Roll, My Photo Stream or any other album containing the pictures you want to share.
  • Touch Select in the top right.
  • Tap each photo that you want to share. A blue checkmark will appear on each one.
  • Touch the icon in the bottom left.
  • Touch iCloud.
  • You can enter a comment or not.
  • Touch Stream. You can choose a different Stream than the one automatically selected or New Shared Stream to create a new one.
  • If you select an existing Stream, touch Post.
  • If you create a New Shared Stream, you will enter the contacts with whom you are sharing in the “To:” field. If you select email addresses, your contacts will be notified by email. If you select cell phone numbers, your contacts will be notified by an alert on their iPhone.

To view or change the contacts in an existing shared Stream:

  • From the same Photos app, touch Shared in the bottom middle.
  • Touch the shared Stream you want to view or change.
  • Touch People on the bottom right.
  • To add more contacts, touch Invite People…
  • To remove a contact, touch the contact’s name and Remove Subscriber at the bottom.

Speaking of photos, for those of you who use Mac computers and would like to learn how to create and share beautiful iPhoto Slideshows, I have an online class beginning January 24. It’s self-paced from your home and I will be available to answer any questions. More info and registration through www.liberateyourtime.com/iphoto-slideshow-registration.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *